Common Tree Nut-Containing Foods

Tree nut allergies, in some ways, can be the easiest food allergies to have, and in other ways incredibly difficult. Due to the awareness of nut allergies and the high cost of many tree nuts, they are prominently declared in most foods and easy to avoid. 

However, with the rise of plant-based diets, nuts are a go-to protein used to make dairy alternatives and add protein to meals. 

If you recently found out your baby has a tree nut allergy, the first step is to take a look at everything in your house, become acquainted with the foods that contain tree nuts, understand how to read labels, and familiarize yourself with other names for tree nuts in ingredient lists. 

Tree Nut Allergy Foods To Avoid:

tree nut foods

  • Walnuts & almonds are commonly added to cookies, pastries, and breads
  • Crumbled pistachio, macadamia and hazelnut create a crunchy topping on pastries
  • Many store-bought loaves of bread add in seeds & nuts
  • Many chocolates have versions with almonds or other nuts. Be wary of cross contamination.
  • Coffee, creamers and hot chocolate often have hazelnut
  • Almond milk is a popular milk alternative
  • Vegan cheeses and ice creams are made with nuts 
  • Cereals and granola commonly have tree nuts 
  • Trail mix
  • Energy bars use nuts for protein
  • Mediteranian cuisines use pistachios, almonds, and other nuts
  • Indian food uses cashew to create cream sauces
  • Thai / Chinese / Malay / Indonesian cuisine uses mostly peanut but can include tree nuts
  • Any food labeled as Vegan
  • Veggie burgers or other meat replacements
  • Sauces. Especially pesto and mole sauce
  • Cooking oils